Students

Some college freshmen learning tough lesson: meningitis shot required
Archived

Thu, Aug 19, 2010

Fall classes haven't even started, and some incoming college freshmen are already procrastinating on some prep work required by a new state law. Also Online The law, which went into effect for this school year, requires a meningitis vaccination for new college students living in an on-campus dorm or apartment. Don't have the shot? Can't move in until you do. And if you've gotten the shot less than 10 days before you're due to move in, then you still have hurdles to face. It's becoming apparent that a small percentage of students at the University of North Texas, Texas A&M University, Southern Methodist...

Tags: Students

Meningitis vaccination
Archived

Thu, Aug 12, 2010
Today is the deadline to get the state-mandated meningococcal vaccination in time to move into dorms at the University of North Texas and Texas Woman?s University. The Denton County Health Department, 535 S. Loop 288, offers the vaccination for about $20. The UNT Student Health Center charges $25 for students with UNT Student Health Insurance. For students without such insurance, the cost is $116. For more information, call the health department at 940-349-2900.