Texas Academy of Math and Science (TAMS)

Roden assembling youth panel

Wed, Sep 28, 2011

12:34 AM CDT on Wednesday, September 28, 2011 Denton City Council member Kevin Roden said Tuesday hes forming a youth advisory council to get young people more involved in local government. The council is open to students in fifth through 12th grades interested in meeting once a month to advise Roden on issues important to them. The students also will learn about the city government through guest speakers, site visits and projects, Roden said. Roden promised to form the advisory council during his successful run for the District 1 council seat in May. He said he hopes to learn from the students while teaching them why local...

In The Schools

Wed, Sep 14, 2011

11:38 AM CDT on Wednesday, September 14, 2011 National Merit Scholarship Corp. officials have announced an estimated 16,000 semifinalists for the 57th annual National Merit Scholarship Program, including 36 area students. Area semifinalists include: Aaron D. Jackson, Guyer High School; Kathryn M. Hokamp, Ryan High School; and Ryan D. Bartling, Favyen Bastani, Grace C. Cassidy, Shantan Cheemerla, Connie L. Cheng, David L. Chi, Angela S. Chin, John M. Clark, Andrea Fa, Karl L. Gross, Andrew C. Huang, Madeline Jiang, Yesul T. Kim, Jonathan Z. Lin, Brian K. Ng, Kara D. Norton, Tucker D. Pope, Mitchell L. Powell, Amanda N. Quay,...

NeighborPlus: Community news for July 29, 2011

Fri, Jul 29, 2011
To submit photos and information recognizing your friends and neighbors for their accomplishment, e-mail Community Editor Ken Sury at ksury@wacotrib.com or call 757-5750. Not all photos can be used; please provide contact information. Students venture to Costa Rica Seven Crawford High School Students participated in tours, educational excursions, as well as white-water rafting and zip-lining during a weeklong trip to Costa Rica. The students were accompanied by their science teacher, Toni Greene. The trip and course curriculum was provided through WorldStrides, an educational student travel program. The students gained knowledge...

Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science graduation

Wed, Jun 15, 2011

Several local students were among the 163 students who graduated from the Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science on May 13. This year?s local TAMS graduates included Christopher Morris of Bartonville; Julika Kaplan of Copper Canyon; and Junho Ahn, Lee Chen, Alissa Levy, Eugene Pak and Vipavee Tamprateep, all of Denton. TAMS, which was established by the Texas Legislature in 1987, is a highly rigorous, two-year residential program at the University of North Texas that allows exceptionally talented students to complete their freshman and sophomore years of college while earning...

TAMS students win $19,000 in scholarships from the Young Epidemiology Scholars Competition

Mon, Apr 25, 2011

:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" / DENTON (UNT), Texas Four students from the Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science at the University of North Texas won awards in the 2011 Young Epidemiology Scholars Competition, earning $19,000 in scholarships. Sponsored by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the College Board, the Young Epidemiology Scholars Competition honors outstanding research projects conducted by high school juniors and seniors that focus on behavioral, biological, environmental and social factors that affect...